Views of Vermont
Home Welcome Contact Information
Taxpayer Advocate
Get Adobe Acrobat  

Business Taxes - 2013 Withholding

Tables and Instructions:

Vermont Income Tax Withholding Instructions
Vermont Percentage Method Withholding Tables
Vermont Wage Bracket Withholding Charts
VT Employees Withholding Allowance Certificate - Form W-4VT
Technical Bulletin #23 -
Determining the Correct Vermont Withholding by Employers

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT):

The Vermont Department of Taxes offers the option of remitting employer withholding taxes through Electronic Funds transfer using the ACH Credit payment option. Employers who can reasonably expect their employee Withholding Tax to be $9,000.00 or more per quarter are mandated by Vermont Statute to submit their payments by Electronic Funds Transfer using a semi-weekly filing frequency. Employers withholding less than $9,000.00 per quarter may voluntarily elect to file and remit through Electronic Funds Transfer using either the monthly or quarterly filing frequency assigned by the Department.

All employers must complete Form EFT-1 to register for the Electronic Funds Transfer program. Upon completion of the registration process, employers can begin submitting their withholding tax by Electronic Funds Transfer - ACH Credit. The registration procedure takes approximately seven business days.

Electronic Funds Transfer Application Form

Note: Employers who are required to remit their withholding taxes using a semi-weekly filing frequency must use the Electronic Funds Transfer - ACH Credit payment option.


Employers who currently pay their withholding taxes using a quarterly or monthly filing frequency and would like to use the ACH Debit payment option should access our online filing system VTBizFile. VTBizFile offers employers a fast, easy way to file and pay their withholding taxes. Click on the icon below and Sign up for your account today. Follow the online instructions and complete the section labeled ACH Debit Banking Information. This will begin the pre-registration process for ACH Debit which will take approximately seven business days.



More Information:
- Business Types
- Federal Small Business / Self-Employment Info
- Interest Rates
- List of Major Vermont Taxes
- Local Option Taxes
- Regulations
- Streamlined Sales Tax
- Tax Charts
- Tax Credits
- Technical Bulletins
- Transient Vendors
- Voluntary Disclosure
- Withholding Information


Need Assistance?

Taxpayer Services

Form Orders via E-mail:

Vermont Department of Taxes, 133 State Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05633-1401