Views of Vermont
Department of Taxes
Home Welcome Contact Information
Business
E-Services
Forms
Individual
Links
Practitioner
Property
Publications
Statistics
Taxpayer Advocate
IRS
Get Adobe Acrobat  
 

Individual Income

Interest and Penalty Charges

Failure to file a return:

  • Penalty at 5% per month on tax liability outstanding, up to a maximum of 25%

  • Penalty at $50 minimum penalty if filed more than 60 days after the due date, even if no tax due

Failure to pay by original due date:

  • Interest at established rate assessed monthly on tax due from original due date to payment date

  • Penalty 2% per month of outstanding tax due, up to a maximum assessment of 25% of outstanding tax due

Failure to make estimated tax payments:

Applies to returns with $500 or more tax due at filing
Charges based on tax divided by four with subtraction of 1/4 of withholding or other credits

  • Interest at established rate assessed monthly from the estimated payment due dates to date of payment

  • Penalty of 1% per month, up to a maximum of 25% of underpayment amount

Underpayment Calculator

Failure to make sufficient estimated payments:

Applies to returns with tax due at filing
Charges based on tax divided by four with subtraction of 1/4 of withholding, estimated payments or other credits

  • Interest at established rate assessed monthly from the estimated payment due dates to date of payment

  • Penalty of 1% per month, up to a maximum of 25% of underpayment amount

Negligent failure to pay:

  • Interest at established rate assessed monthly on tax due from original due date to payment date

  • Penalty 2% per month of outstanding tax due, up to a maximum assessment of 25% of outstanding tax due

  • 25% penalty of tax underpayment

Fraudulent failure to Pay:

  • Penalty 100% of tax liability

 

 

E-File

VTPay


File your Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Adjustment Online
It's quick, easy,
and it's the law....

 

 


 
Vermont Department of Taxes, 133 State Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05633-1401