Views of Vermont
Department of Taxes
Home Welcome Contact Information
Business
E-Services
Forms
Individual
Links
Practitioner
Property
Publications
Statistics
Taxpayer Advocate
IRS
Get Adobe Acrobat  
 

Individual Income
Filing After The April Due Date

A Vermont income tax return may be filed up to 60 days after the due date without an extension on record and no late filing penalty will be assessed. 

A Vermont income tax return filed 61 days after the due date without an extension on file will be assessed a $50 late filing charge – even if no tax is due or a refund is due. 

Examples :
Return due April 15, no extension, filed June 1.
No late filing charge.
Return due April 15, no extension, filed June 30.
Late filing charge.

Filing With An Extension On Record
Filing a Vermont income tax return after the extended due date receive a $50 late filing charge – even if no tax is due or a refund is due.

Examples :
Return due April 15, extension to October 15, filed October 1.
No late filing charge.
Return due April 15, extension to October 15, filed October 16.
Late filing charge.

NOTE:  IF ANY TAX IS DUE AND NOT PAID BY THE APRIL DUE DATE, LATE PAYMENT PENALTY AND INTEREST WILL BE CHARGED WHETHER THERE IS OR IS NOT AN EXTENSION ON RECORD.

 

Taxpayer Information Line:
1.866.828.2865 (Toll-free in VT)
or 802.828.2865 (Local & Out-of-State)

 


E-File

VTPay


File your Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Adjustment Online
It's quick, easy,
and it's the law....

 
Vermont Department of Taxes, 133 State Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05633-1401