Sales Tax Holidays in July

The Governor and The Legislature have enacted a Sales Tax Holiday period in July 2008

July 12 & 13, 2008: Sales Tax Holiday - Items costing $2,000 or less purchased for personal use are exempt from Vermont sales tax and local option sales tax.

July 12– 18, 2008: Energy Star Sales Tax Holiday - Qualified Energy Star Appliances costing $2,000 or less purchased for personal use are exempt from Vermont sales tax and local option sales tax.

Additional information about the Holiday is available at the links below.  The Department will periodically update the Frequently Asked Questions section.

Technical Bulletin #41 - Sales Tax Holiday

Frequently Asked Questions about the Sales Tax Holiday

List of Energy Star Qualified Appliances

Advertising Reminder for Retailers

Application for Reimbursement of Cash Register/Computer Reprogramming

The Law - House Bill 888, Section 73


If you have additional questions regarding the Sales Tax Holiday, contact the Business Tax Division of Taxpayer Services.


Telephone:

 (802) 828-2551 option 3

Fax:

 (802) 828-5787

Email to:

 salestaxholiday@state.vt.us